## Thursday 10 April: For Immediate Release



## A Royal launch for the 6 Hours of Silverstone and Royal Automobile Club Tourist Trophy



Their Royal Highnesses Prince and Princess Michael of Kent were guests of honour on Wednesday at the media launch of the Six Hours of Silverstone and the Tourist Trophy. This curtain raiser to the British round of the FIA World Endurance Championship was held at Kensington Palace, London.

Attending along with the Prince and Princess were Gerard Neveu, CEO of the FIA WEC, and reigning World Champion Tom Kristensen (Audi) who, alongside Loic Duval and Allan McNish, won the coveted Tourist Trophy in 2013. Also present were drivers Darren Turner (Aston Martin Racing), James Calado (AF Corse Ferrari), Maro Holzer (Porsche Team Manthey), Johnny Mowlem (RAM Racing Ferrari), Ben Collins (RAM Racing Ferrari).

The Six Hours of Silverstone will take place on Sunday 20 April 2014 at Silverstone, with the winner being presented with the historic Royal Automobile Club Tourist Trophy. The race is both the opening round of the FIA World Endurance Championship, and the first round of the European Le Mans Series, both of which are promoted by the Automobile Club de l'Ouest (ACO).

Prince Michael of Kent, President of the Royal Automobile Club, said "The Royal Automobile Club's Tourist Trophy is the world's oldest formally organised and contested international endurance motor race, having been inaugurated in 1905 and the story of the Tourist Trophy is, in many ways, the story of motor sport itself. Through it can be charted the careers of some of the greatest drivers, manufacturers and team staff, some of the most challenging and majestic racetracks and some of the most innovative technology ever seen in the sport.

Much of the prestige of the Tourist Trophy is embodied in its relevance. Even in 1905 the emphasis was not purely on speed but also on fuel economy, making it an enormous challenge on all fronts to the teams and drivers taking part and it remains so to this day. The first race in 1905 lasted over six hours and it is truly fitting that over 100 years later we have gone full circle back to a six-hour endurance race in 2014.

The winner of the first race in 1905 was John Napier driving an 18hp Arrol-Johnston in a race over four laps of a fearsome 52-mile open road loop around the Isle of Man. His average speed was 34mph but I suspect at Silverstone the cars will be going far more swiftly, and appropriately so, for it is the swift god, Hermes, that stands proudly on the top of the Trophy.

As President of the Royal Automobile Club, I would like to wish all the competing teams and drivers a safe and successful Tourist Trophy race, and look forward to seeing the name of the winner added to the names of some of the previous winners, which include such racing greats as Rudolf Carraciola, Tazio Nuvolari, Peter Collins, Sir Stirling Moss, Graham Hill, Denny Hulme and Derek Bell".

Notes to Editors:

The Royal Automobile Club

The Royal Automobile Club was founded in 1897 and its distinguished history mirrors that of motoring itself. In 1907, the Club was awarded its Royal title by King Edward VII, sealing the Club's status as Britain's oldest and most influential motoring organisation.

The Club's early years were focused on promoting the motor car and its place in society, which developed into motoring events such as the 1000 Mile Trial, first held in 1900. In 1905, the Club held the first Tourist Trophy, which remains the oldest continuously competed for motor sports event. The Club promoted the first pre-war and post-war Grands Prix at Brooklands in 1926 and Silverstone in 1948 respectively, whilst continuing to campaign for the rights of the motorist, including introducing the first driving licences.

Today, the Club continues to develop and support automobilism through representation on the Motor Sport Association (MSA), Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) and RAC Foundation, while continuing to promote its own motoring events, such as the free-to-attend Regent Street Motor Show and the London to Brighton Veteran Car Run.

The Royal Automobile Club also awards a series of historic trophies and medals celebrating motoring achievements. These include the Segrave Trophy, the Tourist Trophy, the Simms Medal, the Dewar Trophy and the Torrens Trophy.

## A Royal Automobile Club Event



Media Relations: Rebecca Leppard Tel: 01452 260063 Email: Rebecca@eventspr.co.uk

Press & PR Manager M: 07749 852481

www.royalautomobileclub.co.uk/motoring



Media Relations: Rebecca Leppard Tel: 01452 260063 Email: Rebecca@eventspr.co.uk

Press & PR Manager M: 07749 852481