## For Immediate Release



## Royal Automobile Club Announced at Motorcycle Live Contenders for the Coveted Torrens Trophy



(Picture credit: racinglinemedia.co.uk)

Each year the Royal Automobile Club awards a series of historic trophies and medals to individuals and organisations, celebrating and recognising outstanding achievements, technical skills and innovation in the motoring and motorsport industries. The Torrens Trophy recognises an individual or organisation considered to have made an outstanding contribution to the cause of safe or skilful motor cycling in Britain. The Trophy was first awarded in 1978 in memory of Arthur Bourne, a motor cycling journalist and Vice Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club who wrote a column under the name Torrens.

Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club's Motoring Committee said, 'The Royal Automobile Club has always had a close association with the motor cycling world. The Club formed the Auto Cycle Club in 1903, which went on to become the Auto Cycle Union in 1947. The first Tourist Trophy race was held on the Isle of Man in 1905 for cars - two years before the first TT for motorcycles. The Club continues to recognise excellence in the automobile and motorcycle world through the Dewar Trophy for technical innovation, the Segrave Trophy for outstanding demonstration of the possibilities of transport on land, sea and air and the Torrens Trophy for endeavours on two wheels.'

The Torrens Trophy has only been awarded seven times in its history and is only when the club feels that the achievement justifies it. One of its former recipients James Toseland said 'It's a great achievement to win the Torrens Trophy and be recognised by such an established and respected organisation as the Royal Automobile Club.' In 2013 Tom Sykes received the accolade, upon receipt he said 'I feel very privileged that the Royal Automobile Club considered me worthy of it and it's an honour to be recognised by such well respected industry figures'.

This year, with such a strong crop of potential worthy recipients, the Club's Torrens Trophy Nominations Committee - consisting of Motoring Committee Chairman Ben Cussons, Torrens Nomination Committee Chairman and ex-bike racer Barrie Baxter, well-respected motorcycle journalist Mat Oxley, former racer and commentator Steve Parrish and Arthur Bourne's son Richard Bourne - debated long and hard. The overall winner of the Torrens Trophy will be awarded at the prestigious Pall Mall clubhouse in January. In no particular order, the shortlist of nominees for the coveted 2014 trophy is:

**Shane Byrne:** Motorcycle racing can be a very punishing discipline, which makes 'Shakey' Byrne's career all the more remarkable. In October the Kawasaki rider secured his fourth British Superbike title at the age of 38, 11 years after he won his first BSB crown in 2003. The British series is now the world's most competitive national championship, with top competition from across the globe. Byrne won the 2014 title in brilliant style, out-pointing three-time champion Ryuichi Kiyonari.

**Michael Dunlop:** The youngest member of the legendary Northern Irish road racing dynasty, Dunlop has made the Isle of Man TT his own over the past two years. In 2013 he won four TT's across three classes - Superbike, Supersport and Superstock - and he repeated the feat this year. His breathtaking style has raised TT riding to a new level; in some ways the 25-year-old is the Marc Marquez of the roads. His 2014 Senior win on a BMW was the German marque's first Senior TT success since June 1939.

**John McGuinness:** McGuinness won his first Isle of Man TT race in 1999 and last June he recorded his 21st victory in the world's most challenging motorcycle racing event. That success - in the Zero electric race - puts him just five wins behind the all-time record of Joey Dunlop. The 42-year-old might have won more success at the 2014 TT if he hadn't been riding with a recently broken right wrist. Wrestling a 200mph Superbike around the Mountain course in that condition was heroic in the extreme.

**Scott Redding:** After challenging for the Moto2 World Championship in 2013, Scott Redding graduated to MotoGP last season. The 21-year-old rode a production Honda RCV1000R - a lower cost version of the factory bikes - and acquitted himself superbly. He ended the year ahead of all the other RCV1000R riders, who all had considerably more MotoGP experience than the young Briton. Next season Honda have shown their belief in Redding by promoting him to a higher performance factory-spec RC213V.

Previous winners of the Torrens Trophy include BMW in 1989 in recognition for their contribution to motor cycle safety through their development of their anti-lock braking system and in 1998 to Ian Kerr of the Metropolitan Police for 20-years of tireless work in promoting safe and responsible motorcycling. In 2008 World Superbike Champion James Toseland was awarded the Trophy for his immense contribution to raising the profile of motor cycle racing in this country and more recently Tom Sykes for being crowned the fifteenth World Superbike Champion, the fourth from Great Britain and only the second rider to win for Kawasaki in the series for twenty years.

## The Royal Automobile Club

The Royal Automobile Club was founded in 1897 and its distinguished history mirrors that of motoring itself. In 1907, the Club was awarded its Royal title by King Edward VII, sealing the Club's status as Britain's oldest and most influential motoring organisation.

The Club's early years were focused on promoting the motor car and its place in society, which developed into motoring events such as the 1000 Mile Trial, first held in 1900. In 1905, the Club held the first Tourist Trophy, which remains the oldest continuously competed for motor sports event. The Club promoted the first pre-war and post-war Grands Prix at Brooklands in 1926 and Silverstone in 1948 respectively, whilst continuing to campaign for the rights of the motorist and motorcyclist, including introducing the first driving licenses.

Today, the Club continues to develop and support automobilism through representation on the Motor Sport Association (MSA), Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile (FIA) and RAC Foundation, while continuing to promote its own motoring events, such as the free-to-attend Regent Street Motor Show and the Bonhams London to Brighton Veteran Car Run held on Saturday 31st October and Sunday 1st November 2015.

The Royal Automobile Club also awards a series of historic trophies and medals celebrating motoring achievements. These include the Segrave Trophy, the Tourist Trophy, the Simms Medal, the Dewar Trophy and the Torrens Trophy.

www.royalautomobileclub.co.uk/motoring

You can also follow us on Twitter @TheMotoringNews

A Royal Automobile Club Event



Media Relations: Rebecca Leppard

Tel: 01452 260063 / 07749 852481 Email: <u>Rebecca@eventspr.co.uk</u>